Baseball Playoffs – Division Series

mlb-playoff-bracket

Pittsburgh Pirates at St. Louis Cardinals

Season Series won by Pirates 10-9

As happy as I am to see that the Pirates finally made the playoffs, I don’t think they will get any farther than this.  I know the season record looks like the teams are pretty evenly matched, but the Cards are a different team when they hit the playoffs.  Last year they squeaked into the 2nd Wild Card, beat a Braves team that was much better than they were, and then proceeded to beat the Nationals in heartbreaking come-back fashion.  A loss that my husband is still extremely bitter about.

I see the Cards taking this series in 4 games.

Los Angeles Dodgers at Atlanta Braves

Season Series won by Braves 5-2

The first thing we need to keep in mind here is that all of the games between the Dodgers and Braves took place in mid-May and early June, so basically the season series means nothing.  No team had a bigger turnaround between the 1st half of the season and the 2nd half than the Los Angeles Dodgers.  The Braves haven’t really played this team.  I think the Dodgers momentum will continue through this round of the playoffs.

LA in 4.

Detroit Tigers at Oakland Athletics

Season Series won by A’s 4-3

This is a tough one to call.  The season series shows the teams evenly matched and the A’s had a better record than the Tigers, but I think some of that can be attributed to getting to play so many games against the lowly Astros.  My gut tells me that in a short series the Tigers pitching rotation is going to be hard to overcome, especially with the possibility of having to face likely Cy Young winner Scherzer twice.

I think the Tigers will take this one in 5.

Tampa Bay Rays at Boston Red Sox

Season Series won by BoSox 12-7

This series, of course, is really hard for me to be impartial about.  This Red Sox season has been a total turn around from last year, and they seemed to have an easier time against the Rays than in previous years.  That being said Tampa Bay has always played Boston tough and I expect this to be a tough series.  Both teams have good pitching and hitting.  I can’t go against my team.

Sox in 5.

Don’t underestimate the power of the beard. Go Sox!

redsoxtat

Leave a Reply

