The Smartest Man in The World – Proopcast

newlogo612I listen to several podcasts on a few different topics.  One of my favorites is The Smartest Man in the World Proopcast with comedian Greg Proops.  Most people are probably familiar with Greg Proops from his time on both the British and US versions of the improv show “Who’s Line is it Anyway?”.  I have always loved the show, and Greg was always one of my favorites, but I have come to learn that his talent goes far beyond what you ever get to see on TV.  I don’t remember what caused me to think of Greg Proops or look to see if he had a podcast, but I am glad I did.  “The Smartest Man in the World” is recorded in various locations all over the world in front of live audiences.  The show combines comedy, culture, sports, and politics, with a healthy dose of sex, drugs, and rock n’ roll.  He tells great stories and speaks on a great many topics from poetry to music and movies to the Negro leagues.  Greg always includes what he refers to as “the boring preachy part” where he discusses political issues and reads articles from a great many news sources, all while bringing his own opinion and comedy to the issues.

After listening to the Proopcast once I realized that this was something my husband would also enjoy and we have been listening to it together ever since.  We typically listen in the car on the commute to work and always look forward to new episodes coming out.  We were listening to one episode recently when I dropped my husband off and as I continued to listen Greg announced that he would be performing in Boston.  I was so excited, I might have screamed.  My one complaint had been that since we started listening he hadn’t done any shows around here.  I texted my husband to let him know and when I got to work I went to the venue’s website to check it out.  As it turns out Greg Proops is doing the Proopcast as well as several stand up shows in Boston.  While I am sure his stand up is amazing I chose to buy tickets for the podcast.  I have wanted to see when in person since I started listening, and since there is typically a delay of a couple weeks from recording to posting, we will be able to listen to again when it comes out and relive the whole thing.  We are so excited.

If anyone is local and interested in seeing the podcast or standup shows Greg will be in Boston starting November 21st at Laugh Boston.  Otherwise, go listen to “The Smartest Man in the World” and maybe he’ll come to your city soon!

greg-proops_3

Leave a Reply

