Blog Hop – 6/5 – Map It – Ephesians 2:10 (NLT)

“For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago” Ephesians 2:10 (NLT)

First let’s personalize it.

“For I am God’s masterpiece.  He has created me anew in Christ Jesus, so I can do the good things he planned for me long ago.”

The word I chose to focus on was “masterpiece”. Dictionary.com list the definition as so:

mas·ter·piece
noun
1. a person’s greatest piece of work, as in an art.
2. anything done with masterly skill: a masterpiece of improvisation.
3. a consummate example of skill or excellence of any kind: The chef’s cake was a masterpiece.
 

Other translations of this verse use words like “workmanship” (KJV) and “handiwork” (NIV).

While words like workmanship and handiwork are applicable, I don’t think they convey the same power as masterpiece.  To me masterpiece refers to something that is spectacular and amazing, something that the creator poured all of his or her skill into and is very proud of.  I believe that is exactly the message that God wants you to hear.  He made each and every one of us using all his love and skill.  He modeled us after his greatest masterpiece, Jesus Christ, and therefore we are all works of art as well.

This is how God wants us to see ourselves, as he sees us.  To him we are his pride and joy, and we were all made for a purpose that he envisioned for us long before we even came to be.  Many times we get caught up in our own doubts and fears and this keeps us from the purpose for which we were intended.  We need to trust in God’s craftsmanship and love and then we may all be able to be that which we were created to be.

P31 OBS Blog Hop

3 thoughts on “Blog Hop – 6/5 – Map It – Ephesians 2:10 (NLT)

  1. I love the fact that you chose one word to really dwell on. I think my favorite definition of masterpiece was a consummate example of skill or excellence of any kind. For me, that puts a whole new light on me being His masterpiece. Thank you for opening my eyes to something new in this passage.

  2. I love how you broke the verse down and dwelled on masterpiece. Like you, it means so much more than workmanship. Don’t get me wrong – I loved this verse forever with workmanship but this week it just can more alive when we used a different translation. Thanks for sharing. Debbie W. (Proverbs 31 Ministry OBS Team)

Leave a Reply

