Writing 101 – 6/2 – Just Write

“To get started, let’s loosen up. Let’s unlock the mind. Today, take twenty minutes to free write. And don’t think about what you’ll write. Just write.”

Just write.  That is easier said then done.  I want to write more.  I want my blog to be more consistent.  However when I sit down to write I just can’t seem to get my thoughts together.  I may have many thoughts during the day on topics I want to write about but when I actually sit down to do it I can’t seem to gather my thoughts into anything coherent.  Sometimes I just lose the motivation, sometimes I can’t pin down exactly what I want to say, and sometimes I just can’t clear the distractions out of my head.  Sometimes I want to write a commentary, sometimes fiction, and sometimes poetry.  Usually I get overwhelmed by all the thoughts and distractions surrounding me and I end up writing… Nothing.

That is why I signed up for Writing 101.  I am hoping that having a prompt everyday as well as tips and other writers to be supportive of me, and I of them, will help me develop a routine.  I want to sit down and write something and just let it pour out.  Then if I decide it’s not fit for publication, fine, but at least I got the words on paper.  What I am doing now is not working for me and it’s time for something new.

I am looking forward to writing, and hearing feedback from others.  I am also looking forward to reading other’s work and providing my own thoughts.  I hope this experience will help me grow as a writer.

Good luck to all!

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

Leave a Reply

