Writing 101 – 6/4 – Feel the Music

Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

I am a big fan of music.  I love to listen to many different kinds and I love to sing along (especially in the car).  There are many songs over the course of my life that have meaning to me in one way or another, so picking 3 may be hard.  Here goes:

1. “My Girl” by The Temptations – I was 13 when my dad and stepmom got married.  Of course they did the bride/father and groom/mother dances as is traditional.  However, my dad also added a dance with his daughter (me) and we danced to My Girl by The Temptations.  When I got married 18 years later, my dad and I danced to the same song at my wedding reception.

2. “American Pie” by Don McLean – This has always been one of my favorite songs.  I pride myself on the fact that I know all the lyrics.

3. “Hello My Name Is” by Matthew West – Lately I have been listening to a lot of contemporary Christian music, like the stuff heard on K-Love and sung in my church.  This song immediately become one of my favorites.  They lyrics are just so powerful and meaningful to me.

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

Leave a Reply

